My truth

I was reading all about the launch of the Curvy Sewing Collective today, and totally in awe of these amazing, confident women. It really got me thinking about why I do what I do and how I can do it better. Because I want to make more of a contribution to the sewing community that has done so much for me. Especially because, as a plus-size gal myself, I have a lot to offer!

So here are my truths.

I began blogging in 2007, previously over on Love and Pincushions and now here last year. I took a 4 year hiatus when my son was born. I was really not interested in sewing for a very long time due to several reasons, primarily postpartum depression. Once I came out on the other side, I still wasn’t myself and it has taken me a while to really love myself again. Funny enough, I was my happiest when I was about 250lbs. Here I am when I was at my heaviest, on one of the happiest days of my life (wedding dress and hubby’s vest made by my mom and me):

Nate + Jamie Wedding 083

I have since lost about 60lbs, and after a lot of soul searching and talking sense into myself, I am in a much better place. I love myself, and I love sewing clothes for my body no matter what the size or shape. I exercise, I eat healthy, but where I am at now seems to be where my body wants to be. I work full time, I enjoy my family, friends, and hobbies, and I just don’t have time to spend hours in the gym to chisel the body that so many women I look up to do. It’s OK – because there are just as many women I look up to who have different lives and different looks and are all equally beautiful and talented and amazing. We rock, ladies!! All of us!!! And it brings tears to my eyes to be able to say that in a way that is genuine and free of any jealousy or comparisons of myself to some “ideal” standard. I no longer open a magazine and long to look like a Photoshopped version of a supermodel (or even the un-Photoshopped version!). That’s liberating!

I was starting to realize that as much as I want to share what I do, and put something out there that is worth reading, it’s meaningless if I’m not a REAL part of it. I am going to remedy that – for better or for worse, there will be pictures of ME on this blog. Am I perfect? Hell no! And that’s OK, because from this point forward I will no longer hide in the shadows, but rather be a participant in the world. So watch out world, I’m coming for you!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My truth

  1. gmariesews

    Yea you. I’m working on being a well rounded better version of me. 98% of that had naught to do with size. Thanks so much for sharing, g

  2. Go girl! Experimenting with a tripod is so much fun! I wasn’t too keen on photographing myself at first. The only pictures I had of me were ill lighted iPhone pics, or pictures where I had my eyes closed or mouth full, in a wrinkled dress on a bad hairday. Now I take my time to take pictures of finished garments, with attention to details. Outdoors in good light, some make up, right accessories and I don’t look half as bad as those awful snapshots made me believe! Still overweight (and ageing), but sewing and taking pictures for my blog made me no longer want to change myself, but make the best of what I’ve got!

Leave a Reply

