Serging is still sewing

I had an overwhelming itch to sew something, but one machine is still in the shop, and the others need work, so about the only thing I could do was either watch something embroider (boring!) or sew up something that could be done primarily via server. Enter the Kitschy Coo Trifecta top. I fell in love with this top after seeing it on Kadiddlehopper’s blog and purchased it (and the Lady Skater dress) right away. After printing and taping to the tune of my son reading me stories, I was ready to try it out. I used some leftover hot pink and white striped cotton jersey I purchased from Gorgeous Fabrics when Ann first opened shop. I chose the V-neck and cap sleeves. I used some thinner white cotton jersey from my stash for the sleeves to give it some contrast (and because I didn’t have enough of the pink and white left to match the strips anywhere but the side seams).

IMG_20140327_214237

I have sewn my fair share of t-shirts, but chose to follow the photo instructions. They were excellent, and the whole thing sewed up on my serger in under 2 hours. I did topstitch the neckband with my Janome, but just that little bit was too much for it to handle in one pass (hence the reason it needs to go into the shop). I opted not to finish the hem on the sleeves or the top because of said issues. I really like the unfinished look and since this is meant to be a muslin that will be worn for PJs, or weekend lounging, but I am debating adding the bands. It still has a couple of tiny issues, my “V” is a little bit off, even after having anchored it according to the directions. I did a fairly decent job matching up the side seams given that I couldn’t baste them before stitching. The fit is great right off the bat. I made the largest size, and will probably need to size it up for beefier knits. All in all, I’m a VERY happy camper.

This project has really fueled my mojo and I’m determined to come back from our upcoming spring break getaway with a working machine. I have a few projects picked out that will be good transition and spring/summer pieces.

IMG_20140326_193248I have a navy linen button-down top that is one of my absolute favorite pieces in my wardrobe. I wear it at least once every two weeks (if not more), no matter the season. It is nearly identical to New Look 6704 and as soon as I saw that pattern, I had to snag it. I pulled out a couple of possibilities for the pattern. The blue/green in the middle is a rayon/linen blend that was specifically purchased for this pattern. I also pulled a tone-on-tone white striped stretch shirting and a black/floral cotton lawn, although I think I have different patterns in mind for those two pieces.

I also pulled a piece of black rayon jersey that I’ll use for New Look 6430. This is going to replace a workhorse RTW knit top that is falling apart and has been unwearable for at least two years. I’m looking at the flutter sleeve, with no trim for this first iteration.

IMG_20140326_193336

Pardon the flash – phone camera photo and I was too lazy to turn it off 🙂

I’m hoping to hit up some fabric stores while on vacation. We’ll see how that pans out with whale watching, catching up with family and old friends, the beach, and all the other fun plans that we have with my in-laws next week.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Serging is still sewing

  1. Pingback: Switching gears | Diet Couture

Leave a Reply

