What do I sew?

Catching up on all of last week’s blog entries yesterday I came across several posts devoted to answering this very question from Erica B‘s blog:

So, my question to is:  What do you sew?  Is it for entertainment purposes only?  Are you a “weekend seamstress” that just enjoys sewing a cute piece or two for the satisfaction of just sewing?  Or are you in it to win it — like those of us that are serious about wardrobe building and always ready to learn a new technique and add more skills to your sewing repertoire?

This is a question that has been weighing on my mind since before Erica B. posted it. This is a prime source of several of my goals for 2014. I am definitely not as prolific a seamstress as I would like to be, nor do I construct the types of garments currently that I would like to. I intend to be more mindful of the sewing that I am doing and to make both timeless “staples” and fun “pop” pieces. I am most definitely serious about wardrobe building and building my skill set. After a hiatus from sewing that lasted several years I feel like I am starting from scratch on many fronts. The basics may be like riding a bike, the more complicated techniques require ongoing practice and I am definitely out of practice. Last year, I was a weekend warrior. This year, I am in it to win it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What do I sew?

  1. gmariesews

    I find the analogy funny. I’m a weekend warrior – in that I really only have the time and energy to sew on the weekends. As I’m sure you can relate to being a working mom with a young son. But by the same token, I am in it to win it. I can’t remember the last time I wore something to work that I didn’t make. 90% of my wardrobe is me mades – the exceptions are cardigans, yoga pants and camis. The rest – if it’s worn – I made it. Keep working – the memory will come back. g

Leave a Reply

