2014 goals

2013 was a bittersweet year in a lot of ways. I went into a lot more detail about all the ins and outs of this in my personal growth blog The Jamie Project so I won’t go into it all here. One thing I do know is that, more than ever, I’m able to take the good with the bad and roll with the punches. Cliché, yes, but in my past I haven’t been as great with change as I am learning to become. I used to make grandiose goals and never meet them. I’ve never believed in waiting until January 1st to set goals for myself and the only reason my current set of goals resemble New Year’s Resolutions is the fact that most of them came about after reflecting on how my life came to be how it is in the wake of my grandfather’s passing.

My biggest realization is that I spend so much time making plans and so little time executing them. No more. I love creating wardrobe plans and pairing fabrics and patterns and formulating little capsule collections in my head or on paper. But those plans NEVER see the light of day. So I’ve set some achievable goals for myself for 2014 and will be focusing on the process and exploration (and STASHBUSTING) rather than the outcome. So without further ado, here are my 2014 goals (in no particular order):

  • Work on more closely identifying my personal style
  • Reduce my stash – significantly!
  • Finish the Craftsy class I purchased (Pant Fitting) and put it to good use by making some work pants
  • Check out other Craftsy classes
  • Make a pair (or two, or three…) of jeans
  • Make a coat
  • Make a suit
  • Identify holes in my wardrobe so I can fill them
  • Learn how to use my knitting machine
  • Learn how to make better use of my serger
  • Finish at least two hand-knit sweaters
  • Sew more for my hubby and son (since they both love when I sew for them)

I’m not putting a lot of pressure on myself to sew basics, or sew fancy, or sew anything unless the mood strikes me. Most of this is stuff that I need to start making for myself, mainly due to my being 5’10”, but having the arm/leg length of someone over 6’. Most of the above types of items in RTW (even in tall sizes) don’t fit me properly, but I make do for lack of time to explore other options and a desire to sew anything BUT these items. 2014 is going to be about exploration. It’s going to be OK for me to make a wadder, or two, or three. It’s going to be OK for me to take the time to make a few TNT patterns for wardrobe staples (like work pants, jeans, etc.). I won’t be afraid to cut into any of the fabric that I have, no matter how “fancy” – I need to just rip off the proverbial Band-Aid and DO IT! 2014 is the year of being bold, the year of being ME!

To close, I will offer up a shot of my little guy in his new outfit (details in the previous post). I honestly do not know where either piece of fabric came from (the Hawaiian print or the khaki) – I’ve had both pieces for so long. I was originally going to crop his head out of the picture, but he insisted on making the silliest pose and I just had to share! TTFN!

image

Leave a comment

January 13, 2014 · 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

