Back to our regularly scheduled programming…part 2!

I’m back!! I took a 2-week vacation over the New Year’s holiday to recharge my batteries. Initially, we were going to visit the in-laws, but with my granddad’s passing, nobody felt like traveling and I didn’t want to leave my grandmother alone. The next closest family is over 2 hours away and there was still much to do to take care of affairs.

One thing I was able to do a lot of was sewing!!! I managed to test out a couple of new patterns and finish up the little guy’s school clothes that I started in the summer. Here is a recap of what I was able to accomplish on my stay-cation:

First up, I’m going to start with the pieces I don’t have any pics of yet – little dude’s school clothes. I made him a Hawaiian-style shirt from Simplicity 4287 and a pair of khaki pants from Simplicity 3891 (both out of print). I bought up all the Simplicity men/boys patterns when they first went out of print right after he was born. I’m so glad I did – I have enough of a selection now in boys sizes to make him pretty much anything he wants! I’ll get pics of him wearing them tomorrow when he sports them at his first day back at school after his three-week winter break.

Up next is my big project for my stay-cation, Simplicity 2284. I made a variation of View D, without any front closures. This is one of those great patterns that comes pre-drafted for A, B, and C cups. After much deliberation on whether to use the B or C, I decided on the B. I’m glad I did, although I could have gone down a size in the shoulders and graded out to the larger size in the waist and hips. I can’t stress enough how much I LOVE this jacket. I used a really fun purple and black boucle fabric that I got from the now-defunct Timmel Fabrics about 6 years ago. I’ve been wanting to make a collarless jacket for years now and decided that now was the time. I block-fused the boucle to add stability and omitted the self-fabric facings and used the full back and front to line with black bemberg. This made it more like a cardigan, although I did not quilt the lining to the fashion fabric as they do in the couture French collarless jackets. I used this trim from Joann on the entire jacket edge, pockets, and sleeves. Again, I LOOOOOVE this jacket!!! I want more of these and have a ton of ideas to make some other variations of this jacket!

image

I also made a couple of knit tops. Although I am far from petite (at 5’10”, I was skeptical at best), I decided to give the free Skinny Bitch, Curvy Chick Tonic Tee a try. It is PERFECTION! I added 2″ to the length, 1″ above the waist and 1″ to the hem. The size XL with that little bit of length added is exactly right for a basic tee. I used a rayon-blend jersey from Joann that has some strange writing and splotches on it. I haven’t been able to make out all the words, and some of the ones I can make out are misspelled (not noticed until AFTER I purchased it) so it was perfect for a “muslin” of sorts. I wore it today, it’s super comfortable and you don’t even notice the misspellings since you can’t really read the words when it’s on :). I plan to make many more of these.

image

I also tried out Simplicity 2364, View A. I used two different poly jersey fabrics that I bought from Gorgeous Fabrics 6+ years ago. The main body actually had a border that matched the fabric used for the shrug and sleeves portion. I used to have a top very similar to this and it was one of my favorites until it no longer fit. I will be making many more of these because a tank/shrug combo is a spring and summer staple for me – this is a look I can carry into the fall and winter.

image

I am definitely in stash-busting mode. I am also working on the Disparate Disciplines Avocado Hoodie, but my sewing machine took a dump halfway through (It’s currently a WIP on my sewing table).  Most of my stash I purchased 6+ years ago, when I was pregnant, with the idea of making several mini capsules that are business and business-casual. I still intend on using some of the fabrics for their original purposes, but since I am not in need of much of a transitional wardrobe at this point a lot of it is going to testing out patterns. If they work, awesome, but if not then that’s OK too. I’ve been losing weight due to positive lifestyle changes, so I don’t expect much of what I’m making now to fit me a year from now.

I am definitely in stash-busting mode. I am also working on the Disparate Disciplines Avocado Hoodie, but my sewing machine took a dump halfway through (It’s currently a WIP on my sewing table).  Most of my stash I purchased 6+ years ago, when I was pregnant, with the idea of making several mini capsules that are business and business-casual. I still intend on using some of the fabrics for their original purposes, but since I am not in need of much of a transitional wardrobe at this point a lot of it is going to testing out patterns. If they work, awesome, but if not then that’s OK too. I’ve been losing weight due to positive lifestyle changes, so I don’t expect much of what I’m making now to fit me a year from now.

I have several other pieces that I’ve made, but no pictures or even recollection of what all the patterns are so there is no point in posting any of them. But I have a good dent in my transitional spring wardrobe and once I get my last few WIPs off my table I can start working on some fun new projects. Only problem, my beloved Janome took a dump on me yesterday. It (LITERALLY) has a mind of its own and likes to keep sewing even after I release the foot pedal. It did this before and hubby was able to temporarily fix it, but his fix from last time isn’t working this time around. Add on the tension issues that have been plaguing me for the past year, and I’m starting to think that I should really keep using my 60-year old Singer workhorse that NEVER gives me fits. THANKFULLY, my dear, sweet grandmother has generously let me use her awesome Brother Quattro 6000D. She bought it when it first came out and has never used it. Only problem…it has tension problems of its own, which is going to require me to take it into the shop. Maybe I’ll see if they can do a 2-for-1 on the service since mine and my granny’s were both purchased from the same dealer :). Anyway…here is a picture of her. Ain’t she a beaut? I can’t wait to really play with her.

image

That’s about all I have for today, I guess I can’t really do much more sewing until I get a working machine set up. So TTFN!!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

