Hello baby!

Not MY baby!! The hubs has vetoed all requests for another addition to our family (with very good reason, although the biological clock doesn’t stop just because hubby says so…but that’s another topic for another day), so I get to live vicariously through my friends having their babies. In addition to the maternity scrubs (which were a huge hit), I am working on some other items for the baby. They have decided not to find out the gender, so I’ve been having fun with neutral palettes. First up is this diaper bag using this Sew4Home w/Fabric.com pattern.
image

image

image

The dragonfly pattern is Good Fortune Zen by Moda in grey dragonfly, and the green is Riley Blake’s Rainy Days and Mondays Green Umbrella Damask. I got them both at Going Batty Quilt Shop here in Reno. The polka dot is from Joann and I laminated it using iron on vinyl. I love working with the laminated cotton so much better than PUL, which is what the pattern called for. The only problem is that it wrinkled like crazy when I finished it up (the pattern has you sew the top together and then turn it right side out). I’m not going to do much about it until I deliver it to Phoenix in late March, but I’ll take a warm iron to it and it should alleviate most of the turning wrinkles.

Already cut out is a coordinating changing pad that will have the green umbrella fabric on one side and a coordinating raindrop print from the same collection on the other. I turned the rest of the dragonfly into bias binding for the edges. As soon as I can get my hands on more iron-on vinyl I’ll get that finished up.

I also made a couple of bibs, including this one that has birds and trees, the mom-to-be’s favorites:
image

I have a list of a few more things to put in the bag and it should be a great surprise for one of my best friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hello Baby!, Sewing for others

Leave a Reply

